PDA

View Full Version : Did Anyone Get A Virus Alert Here On Sat Morning?


jfrenaye
09-26-2009, 07:56 PM
This morning, CT, (the main site) alerted on a virus or a hack site. I heard from someone else that they may have alerted as well.

I let Chris know and he was looking into it but here was my deal...

I got the feed newsletter and clicked on a link to read a story. It didn't work and I started to type in "consum..." and it autofilled and brought me to the forums. Once here, I clicked the logo and went to the main site. The new pop up to sign up for the email came up again (although I am already subscribed and it should have remembered me from cookies). As soon as I closed it, my browser window went into alert mode from AVG software.

This is a red warning screen, and being particularly paranoid, I fail to read what it says and just click it closed. I did a scan and came up clean.

Just wondering if anyone else experienced somethign like that and suggesting that if you did--send Chris an email to let him know some more info.

mtp51
09-26-2009, 08:56 PM
I experienced that twice in the past couple of weeks - had to reboot.

Loonbeam
09-26-2009, 11:09 PM
More often than not, I see this when a contaminated ad makes it way into the network. No alerts here, but I do run ad-blocker for just that reason. Every so often I will go on my DMZ machine to sites I want to support and click on ads.

stephen_s
09-26-2009, 11:59 PM
It's not only on CT. I've gotten it on Facebook as well.

galavant
09-27-2009, 06:31 AM
This morning, CT, (the main site) alerted on a virus or a hack site. I heard from someone else that they may have alerted as well.

I let Chris know and he was looking into it but here was my deal...

I got the feed newsletter and clicked on a link to read a story. It didn't work and I started to type in "consum..." and it autofilled and brought me to the forums. Once here, I clicked the logo and went to the main site. The new pop up to sign up for the email came up again (although I am already subscribed and it should have remembered me from cookies). As soon as I closed it, my browser window went into alert mode from AVG software.

This is a red warning screen, and being particularly paranoid, I fail to read what it says and just click it closed. I did a scan and came up clean.

Just wondering if anyone else experienced somethign like that and suggesting that if you did--send Chris an email to let him know some more info.

John:

It happened to me yesterday morning. I also have AVG, and when I typed in the first few letters ...consu...a warning popped up. Thought I did something wrong...

Patti

jfrenaye
09-27-2009, 08:15 AM
I suggest letting Chris know. If you know what ad it is, or what network, I am sure that will help.

For me I try to be very careful and have only seen that warning twice. One on a friend's site that was indeed hacked and yesterday at CT. Facebook has been fine for me

Ned
09-27-2009, 09:44 AM
My AV and intrusion detection software has warned me nothing thus far about CT. I do block all ads with Ad Block Plus, but have gotten the CT subscription popup twice, without incident.

tdew
09-27-2009, 11:18 AM
It happened to me this morning when I started reading this post.
I quickly stopped everything and checked my antivirus.
I've just recently switched to ESET, which was recommended by Ned.
Sure enough, there was a notification from ESET which spoke about the "false warning" and that it had ben quarantined.

Just to be sure, I ran a full scan on the computer and all was well.

It seems to have gone from here now, so somebody must have pulled whatever was responsible.

susanliber
09-27-2009, 01:31 PM
spyhunter just quarrentined something...and I get the pop up to sign up for the newletter every time I sign in...even though I am signed up for it all ready.

Ned
09-27-2009, 01:53 PM
I continue to use ESET, but haven't had any warnings from CT. I ran a full scan which showed nothing.

I believe my Ad Block software has stopped the problem before it could even be considered by my system.

It happened to me this morning when I started reading this post.
I quickly stopped everything and checked my antivirus.
I've just recently switched to ESET, which was recommended by Ned.
Sure enough, there was a notification from ESET which spoke about the "false warning" and that it had ben quarantined.

Just to be sure, I ran a full scan on the computer and all was well.

It seems to have gone from here now, so somebody must have pulled whatever was responsible.

pezmanffx
09-27-2009, 03:02 PM
I got the warning yesterday. I did a full deep scan using Vipre and it discovered a tracking cookie called (247realmedia).

Fireman
09-27-2009, 08:43 PM
I got the warning late yesterday. I was in CT, clicked on something (forums I think) and my screen lit up like the 4th of July. Screen info said I had worms, virus', spyware, etc. Have never had that many things attack all at once.

Logged out of everything, ran several different antivirus, anti-spyware, anti anything I could think of and everything came up clean.

DM

CruiseExpert
09-28-2009, 08:27 PM
I just hit the new posts button and was whisked off to a most unsavory place on the internet. Who knew there was a PornTube? The back button worked like it should, that is not always the case with these highjack pages. I am going to try using Firefox instead of IE8 here.

deangreenhoe
09-28-2009, 10:13 PM
Who knew there was a PornTube? The back button worked like it should, that is not always the case with these highjack pages.

Well I hope you at least bookmarked it before hitting the back button. :D

This is getting weird. I think they call it "a ghost in the machine." :eek:

mercwyn
09-29-2009, 04:01 PM
I just got the virus warning as I went to www.tripso.com. I got the pesky pop up for the weekly delivery of news, which I don't want but I get to see the ad for every time I go to the webpage.

CruiseExpert
09-29-2009, 06:58 PM
Well I hope you at least bookmarked it before hitting the back button. :D
I did not, how will I ever get back there again?;)

I believe we are getting assorted hijack ads versus actual viruses.

No issues while using Firefox with Ad Blocker Plus.

pezmanffx
09-30-2009, 08:43 AM
Im having issues whenever I go to the home page today. Im using firefox with adblock. I get those crazy warnings and then it resizes my browser.

Loonbeam
09-30-2009, 09:29 AM
Something on the ad-network is the issue... If I log in on my non ABP box, I get fake virus scanner ads, among other things. With ABP, nothing so far.

dshilaos
09-30-2009, 09:39 AM
I just got a warning and was hyjacked to a "check your computer" page. I'm running virus scan as I type.