PDA

View Full Version : Horrible KLM Experience...

BostonFlyer9
05-28-2005, 10:27 PM
Horrible KLM Experience...

I just finished a flight from Stockholm to Amsterdam to Tokyo (May 28-29) and had the worst travel experience of my lifetime. Actually it started a little earlier on a flight from Boston to Amsterdam to Stockholm (May 20th). This is my first time flying KLM and I assumed that the service level would be the same as NWA. Among my disappointments:

- Denied entrance to KLM/Star Alliance lounge in Amsterdam because my Platinum AMEX is not valid in Europen lounges, I'm told. This is news to me as I've used it before in Spain and plenty of times in Japan.

- No upgrades on any leg of my trip

- During the check at Stockholm, the woman at the check-in counter allowed someone to skip in front of me at the Elite line. When I asked another staff member in English "What is she doing? Why is she allowed to jump in front of me?” he relayed my question to the check-in counter woman who said "I'm checking her in!" in Swedish. Completely ignoring me.

- When I checked in my luggage and asked for the priority label the same check-in woman started laughing at me and said "Do you think that actually works?" I responded "I'd hope so, are you saying it does not?" to which she responded "Anyway, you got it. If you think it works good luck" this time laughing with another counter woman.

At this point I was really shocked with the way I was being treated. I asked if it would be possible to upgrade and she said no. When I made it to the gate desk, I watched as the counter woman upgraded two people. Then when I approached the counter, one of the staff said to the gate woman in Swedish "He wants an upgrade too!" When I made my request she said "I don't think there is any room, do you have an Alliance account?" I showed her the account on my ticket which she all but ignored and said "I'll let you know if it is possible." Needless to say I was not upgraded.