PDA

View Full Version : Washington's Crossing

Ned
09-18-2007, 01:15 PM
I love historical non-fiction, especially biographies.

I've just finished David Hackett Fischer's Washington's Crossing.

It's a fabulous account into the background, and everything that went into Washington's historic march from Valley Forge, the crossing of the Delaware River, and the subsequent battles in New Jersey and along the Delaware giving Washington the victory he needed in very desperate times for the American army.

The research that Mr. Fischer put into this book is clearly extensive. I'm a student of early American history, as are many here in Philadelphia, the birthplace of our nation, yet I learned something new almost every time I turned the pages of this book.

If you like nonfiction, historically based books you'll eat this one up. I give it my Five Star recommendation.

deangreenhoe
11-11-2007, 10:27 AM
And after reading Follet's "A Place Called Freedom" where Washington appears briefly in a fictionalized account of those times, I think I'm ready to move this one onto my reading list. Thanks for the tip off, Ned. :)

Ned
11-11-2007, 02:03 PM
Give me your review on what you think of this book when you're done.

Eileen Sellers
11-12-2007, 06:42 PM
Perhaps a year ago, I watched an A/E version of Washington's crossing. It was excellent. So, upon your recommendation, I went to the book store. Gosh, he is an excellent writer with a great gift of story telling.

I didn't get past the Editor's note telling me that Washington met the Hessian's. Well, ok, but until reading this, I thought he met the British Army.

And here is the quote: "Men accustomed to unbounded freedom, and no controul, cannot brook the Restraint which is indispensably necessary to the good Order and Government of an Army".

The Hessian commanders were well disciplined. But did Washington know he was confronting the Hessians or did he think it was the British Army?