PDA

View Full Version : Rental Cars in Cozumel?

PotatoHead
09-06-2007, 06:30 PM
Hello, I will be traveling by cruise to Cozumel and would like to rent a car for a day. I have been doing a little research and have become a little concerned by the what I am finding. There are several rental places apparently but I am finding negative reviews about all of them. Has anyone had any experience with any of these car rental places?
Smart Car Rentals
Less Pay Car Rental
Executive Car Rental

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Linda

mercwyn
09-06-2007, 06:39 PM
I can't say that I'm an expert on Cozumel and car rentals however I would stick to Hertz or Avis because if there is an issue it is generally easier to work with a US based rental agency. In travel, the cheapest is not always the best value nor is it always the cheapest when all is said and done.

CruiseExpert
09-06-2007, 07:06 PM
We rented a Jeep through Avis last time in Cozumel, nary a hitch. Enjoy your day.

wrp96
09-06-2007, 08:27 PM
I would caution you against renting a car in Cozumel unless you really don't want to do anything else. A lot of the places are easily accessible by taxi (for a lot less than it will cost to rent a car). I've seen too many stories of people getting into accidents and having major issues getting things sorted out.

I'm not saying don't rent a car, but definitely do your research before assuming that it will be the best option.

jfrenaye
09-06-2007, 09:26 PM
I always hesitate to recommend renting a car in Mexico for anyone. Their laws are different and if you are in an accident, you can be held in jail till the case is heard. That would be a bummer. The exceptions are organized excursions such as the jeep tours where you go caravaning all around with a gang.

Send a PM to MTP51. SHe is there often and does rent vehicles I believe. I am pretty sure she did when we were there last October. She would have some good advice!

mtp51
09-07-2007, 01:20 PM
Linda,