PDA

View Full Version : Restaurant reservations go online

mtp51
06-18-2007, 10:06 AM
This is old news to me - I've been using Open Table since its inception.
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/18/business/18opentable.html?th&emc=th

Do you make dinner reservations online?

Ned
06-18-2007, 02:50 PM
Marge, you're right, this is old news. We've been using open table for quite some time too.

The one thing in the article, which I don't think many people have realized, to date, is Zagat's new relationship with Open Table, announced only this past February 16th, and first implemented just about two weeks ago, on June 5th, when they announced it to their members. Now you can make reservations via Zagat.com through Open Table. It makes it very convenient. Zagat, when coming to their agreement with Open Table also announced that they had purchased a minority stake in the company.

Stina
06-19-2007, 09:50 PM
I've never used Open Table before. I do make a lot of dinner reservations for my company. I know a few restaurants my boss frequents are on Open Table, but I've always been nervous that something with the online booking will go wrong.

I'll have to give it a try in the future and cross my fingers.

Ned
06-19-2007, 09:59 PM
We've made more that a hundred reservations by Open Table, Stina, and they've all been honored. Within minutes of making a reservation you will receive an email with a confirmation number and links for viewing, changing, or canceling your reservation. I always have my confirmation with me, but I've never needed it.

I've never used Open Table before. I do make a lot of dinner reservations for my company. I know a few restaurants my boss frequents are on Open Table, but I've always been nervous that something with the online booking will go wrong.

I'll have to give it a try in the future and cross my fingers.

mtp51
06-20-2007, 08:02 AM